Chewy Brownie Cookies

February 9, 2010 at 9:11 pm (1)

Hello,

Dylan and Sierra are trying to avoid desserts so they are not happy that I just baked these cookies.

I have been making these for years. In fact I baked a version of them for Jill’s rehearsal dinner.  I found this recipe in a magazine ad – for Crisco – Ugh. I changed it up a little.  I substitute butter for the Crisco, put half the amount of chocolate chips – trust me you do not need as many as it says ( I use mini chips to get a more uniform chocolaty-ness.)  I also add chopped pecans and espresso powder and a little Kahlua. The recipe says it makes about 3 dozen.  I usually double it and still only get about 4 dozen. I make big cookies I guess.

Chocolate Brownie Cookies

2/3  Cup Butter (at room temperature)

1  and 1/2  Cups firmly packed brown sugar

1  Tablespoon Water ( I replace this with Kahlua)

1    Teaspoon vanilla

2  Eggs

1 and 1/2 Cups flour

1/3 Cup  unsweetened baking cocoa

1/4  Teaspoon baking soda

1/2  Teaspoon salt

1  Cup Mini Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips ( The original recipe uses 2 cups – you do not need that many but feel free)

My additions:

2  Tablespoons Espresso Powder

1  Cup finely chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Place sheets of un-greased foil on cookie sheets.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, salt, and baking soda  (and espresso powder if using) until well blended – set aside.

In a large bowl, combine butter and brown sugar, water ( or Kahlua) and vanilla in a large bowl. Beat until well blended.  Beat in eggs one at a time until well blended.

Mix the dry ingredients into the butter mixture at low speed just until blended. Stir in the chocolate chips (and pecans if using).

Drop by rounded Tablespoons onto foil lined cookie sheets about 2 inches apart.

Bake one cookie sheet at a time for 7 to 9 minutes or until cookies are set. DO NOT overbake. Cookies will appear soft and moist. Cool two minutes on baking sheet. Then slip foil with cookies onto cooling racks.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

