Pineapple Date Tea Cakes

January 27, 2010 at 9:42 pm (1)

Hello!

I hadn’t made these since 1997. Who knows why. But since my kids are looking for breakfast things that are not too sweet, portable, and that can be made ahead of time, I looked them up in my recipe pile.  Also, I made baked oatmeal the other day and these are vaguely similar ( This was another recipe I had not made in years. Recipe to follow soon ). There is a small amount of sugar in these  but the dates and pineapple give it a natural sweetness – so I think you could cut back on the sugar if you wanted. Dylan and Sierra said they could eat them all day long.

A note: These do not look much like traditional muffins because they are very dense and do not raise very much. I do not remember where the recipe came from, and I did not even write down the name of the creation when I copied the recipe.  So – we will call them Tea Cakes ( I like quaint recipe titles).  I always wanted to make the Vanity Cakes in Little House on the Prairie – but I do not like to deep fry things.  Has anyone ever eaten or made those?

(If you do not like raisins and think dates are the same – think again. Dates are a different texture altogether! My husband hates raisins in baked goods but could not stop saying “mmmm” about these )

Pineapple Date Tea Cakes

1   8 OZ can crushed pineapple ( unsweetned and undrained)

1   Cup sour cream

1    Egg

1/4   Cup melted butter cooled to room temperature

1  and 1/2  Cups flour

1  Cup Oatmeal ( uncooked)

1/2  Cup sugar ( I used packed brown sugar)

1  Tablespoon baking powder

1  Teaspoon cinnamon

1/2  Teaspoon nutmeg

1/2  Teaspoon salt

1   Cup chopped dates

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a small bowl combine undrained pineapple, sour cream, and egg. Beat until blended.

In a large bowl combine flour, oatmeal, sugar, spices, salt and dates. Add pineapple mixture, stirring slightly with a spoon  – then add the melted butter and continue stirring just until mixed. Divide amongst lined muffin cups ( yes ,of course you can spray muffins cups with oil instead of using liners) – makes about 20 but it will depend on how full you fill the cups. The cakes do not raise much and they are very dense. Bake about 20-25 minutes but you will need to check for doneness – as they do not brown on top and of course your oven may be different.

These would also be good with some chopped pecans tossed in – or you could change out the dates for Craisins ( regular or cherry flavor) .

*****Please feel free to make these and then send me a picture! Sierra is charging her battery and then who knows if any tea cakes will be left by that time….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

