I am a recipe addict.

January 22, 2010 at 10:30 pm (Side Dishes)

Hello, my name is Paula Hovet – and I am a recipe addict.

Now, I see that a lot of people on the internet claim that. So,I should clarify. I do not collect, categorize, and file  recipes. I am not a wanna be Julia Child, Martha Stewart, or even Rachel Ray.

Here is my problem.

I read cookbooks ( like a novel). I  browse cooking magazines ( over and over) . I glimpse at the recipe section newspapers.  I photocopy the recipes. I tear out the magazine pages with the recipe. I clip out the newspaper recipes.  Then, I unceremoniously put them in a plastic zip lock bag, or a single plastic folder. But my favorite place to put them is in my other cookbooks. My poor Fanny Farmer cook book is falling apart! I have done this for years and my tastes have changed dramatically. I laugh out loud at some of the recipes I cut out in the past. What was I thinking?

Well, my addiction has gotten out of hand – I was just looking over my pile of recipes and discovered I have a recipe from an Arizona newspaper from 1989 that I have never made. This is not unusual. I have many recipes that I have never made. I need to get sober!

SO!

The purpose of my blog is myriad. First, I am looking for a job and need something to keep me busy.  Second, I thought with all my free time I would be ultra constructive and organize my recipes. Third, I must have cut out the recipes for a reason, so in an effort to expand my repertoire I will make it, and give you the verdict. Fourth, my kids will be going to college soon and they want to be able to access my recipes.

I do hope to put pictures on the site. Nothing is so boring as a cookbook without a picture of a finished dish. I love when the cookbook authors  put little stories about how they discovered the recipe or what it means to them! Right now, I have no particular order that I will proceed in- I may just go one by one in the pile – or maybe I will put true “keepers” first.

Any suggestions on the order?

A warning! I rarely make a recipe the way it was written. I consider most recipes concepts. I will sometimes use three recipes to make one dish. Using the ingredients I like, tsking at the others. If this is the case,  I will try to give the original and then add my changes.

Thought of the day:

Coconut is one of Mother Nature’s mistakes.

I never make anything with coconut – Please -do not even try to convince me.

The first recipe is one I make often. It is from a church cookbook my sister Stephanie gave me. Called “Improve Your Serve.”

Stef, If you ever see Bambi Saxe – tell her this recipe has been to AZ, CA, WA, and GA and always gets rave reviews. My husband’s Uncle Cliff summed it up by saying. “What a neat thing to do with zucchini!” I eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner – it is very versatile.

Zucchini Bake

3  Cups grated zucchini

1/2 Cup chopped Italian parsley

1/2 Cup chopped onion

1 Clove garlic minced

1 Cup Bisquick

1/2 Cup Oil ( I use Olive oil)

1/2 Cup Parmesan cheese ( I have used fresh and the type in the plastic container- I like the using the type in plastic container as it is a stronger flavor)

4 Eggs beaten

Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly oil a 7 x 11 baking dish.

Mix all ingredients well, pour into baking dish. Bake for about 25 minutes until lightly brown.  I usually bake it a little longer than this but of course your oven may be different.

3 Comments

  1. Stephanie Reed said,

    How cool! I haven’t seen Bambi in ages, but I can tell you this; Myra and I edited that cookbook. Bambi was head of the comiittee, and since contributions were sparse, she put in a bunch of recipes she had never made! I’m really glad to see you have made an honest woman of her.

    Also, what a great idea, to archive your recipes for your kids and the lucky people who read your blog! Going to link it up to my Facebook page.

    If you want to see a nicely laid out recipe blog, check out Mennonite Girls Can Cook. Mmmmm. http://mennonitegirlscancook.blogspot.com/

    Congratulations! Keep at it!

  2. Maria I. Morgan said,

    Congratulations on your blog, Paula!! Great use of your time as you continue the job hunt. Who knows, maybe publishing a cookbook is in your future?! Thank Dylan and Sierra for ‘hounding’ you…what a delicious idea! Looking forward to your recipes! :)

  3. Jill Clark said,

    I almost felt a sigh of relief when I read that you started this. Did you see my distress when you were saying you don’t have recipes for most of the delicious stuff you’ve made? It was the same distress I felt at Christmas when you and S. were talking about something you made. It was making you smile and mmm at just the memory but you couldn’t quite remember how you did it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

